Mentor Spotlight: Sam C.

When I was an engineering program manager in the aerospace industry, one of my most enjoyable activities was working with just degreed young engineers. Guiding them through the processes of what engineers really do, letting them, with guidance, take on and successfully complete a project provided me with great rewards.  I was even able to help a few win their Professional Engineer (PE) status. When I retired I wanted to teach motivated high school seniors advanced mathematics to hopefully guide them into a STEM career.  That turned out to be something that couldn’t be done for a number of reasons.

Embedded in the above is why I enjoy working with icouldbe.org students. It is my hope that by providing guidance and encouragement to those  young people, some of them will choose the route I followed in my professional life.  There is a tremendous need for young, bright military officers and others schooled in STEM courses and ideas.  It appears that some I’ve worked with have a leaning to go in that direction, that is rewarding. This great country provided the framework within which someone like me of humble beginnings through commitment could achieve whatever they set out to do. Working with young people like those in icouldbe is one way I have of giving back. Finally, just working with young people who want to better their lives to make a greater contribution to society in the future is a significant accomplishment.

One response to “Mentor Spotlight: Sam C.

  1. Pingback: icouldbe.org STEM mentors will help students with science projects this year! | a blog by icouldbe.org

Leave a Reply

