Mentor Spotlight: Sandy C.

Hi, my name is Sandi and I’m an excited new mentor with icouldbe.org!  While I’ve only been a mentor for one semester so far, I know there are many more semesters ahead given how much I’ve already gained from the experience.

I am working with three mentees who all have very different personalities and unique ways of approaching their assignments.  The one thing that they all have in common is a determination to be the best they can be.  While getting to know my mentees, and as they get to know me, I discovered that we have something in common. I, like they, came from at-risk neighborhoods and schools, but had a great family, friend and teacher support system to tap into and discover that I had as great a potential to succeed as anyone else.  I am hoping my experiences and “rear view mirror” perspective will be as useful to my mentees as my own mentors’ caring and personal experiences were to my success.

Having worked in a corporate enviornment now for three decades and always deferring mentoring because I never seemed able to find the time, I am thrilled that e- mentoring is not only a possibility but also a great way to connect with students.  In the short time I have been mentoring, it’s obvious that although my mentees and I have never met in person, we are getting to know each other and building relationships that are as rich as if we were sitting across a table from each other.

Leave a Reply

