Story from a mentor – A rewarding and enlightening experience

Enjoy this account from a dedicated icouldbe mentor:

I suggest to many of my mentees that if they wish to ask questions or talk about challenges that have nothing to do with the structured material, I am available to provide insights in areas where they may be hesitant to talk with teachers and family. Some mentees take me up on this and a few have poured out their life to me. I have tried to be truthful and helpful within the guidelines I have set for myself as far as these exchanges are concerned.  I have found one of the best ways to establish a relationship is to tell the mentees about the kinds of problems I had when I was their age and how some of these problems were solved and how some of them were not.

I had one mentee in particular that I grew very close to. She was one of the brightest young minds I have had the pleasure of communicating with and not just in the icouldbe program. Unfortunately she has moved to a different part of the country and her school does not participate in icouldbe but she still goes online occasionally and communicates with me via your email program. I am not comfortable sharing the details of our many exchanges but I can say it was a rewarding and enlightening experience for me and hopefully I was of help and value to her–at least that is what she has told me.

-Art K.

5 responses to “Story from a mentor – A rewarding and enlightening experience

  1. These was a really good experience how the mentor helped.

  2. These was a awesome experience.

  3. I really liked when she said am not comfortable sharing the details of our many exchanges but I can say it was a rewarding and enlightening experience for me and hopefully I was of help and value to her–at least that is what she has told me.
    She helped he with she needed.

  4. I’ve been able to do good throughout my work. I can understand what i am asked to do throughout the units. I have learned many things and I’m motivated to go to collage and become a nurse. I hope this process can help me out alot.

  5. I’ve learned very much during this process. I’ve also learned how to be more motivated to do more fun activities and how to handle a situation. I hope to learn more throughout this program and hopefully become somebody after using this program.

Leave a Reply

