Story from a mentor – Progress and Motivation

The following is a story directly from one of icouldbe’s dedicated mentors:

I do my icouldbe.org volunteer work because I truly enjoy helping mentees. It warms my heart to know that I am able to positively impact a young person’s choices and life. This school year, I am fortunate to have had several exceptional mentees. However the incident that stands out in my memory the most is one mentee from last school year.

At first, he was very difficult to motivate, often was “fresh” with me, sometimes even rude. In the beginning, the quality of his work was not impressive. He tried to do minimum work required and do it as quickly as possible. He objected to my criticism and suggestions and was opposed to redoing any of his work when I asked him. Sometimes, I even sensed his anger through his words when I did not approve/pass some of his units and asked him to do more work. But slowly, I began seeing positive changes, very subtle at first, then more visible changes. He began trying harder and harder, became more polite and respectful of my feedback. He ended up being my most advanced mentee in terms of his progress. And to my huge surprise, he wrote me an e-mail last summer to say hello and to thank me. If this isn’t the ultimate prize for my volunteer work, I don’t know what is.

Just like our mentees need us, their mentors, to motivate and encourage them, we the mentors also need to be motivated to do this work. My special mentee provided such motivation to me.

Thank you for letting me share.

Eugenia R, Username: Eugenia

Leave a Reply

